Congratulations to the 2019 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Champions

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 | 1:40 PM


Kayla Bolton
(304) 284-0101
[email protected] 

Congratulations to the 2019 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC
AMA Amateur National Motocross Champions
36 Loretta Lynn Championships Awarded 

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. (August 6, 2019) – After a week of world-class amateur motocross racing, 108 motos at the 38th Annual Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Lucas Oil, concluded on Saturday, August 3, in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee at the historic Loretta Lynn Ranch. Thirty-six new National Championships were crowned, along with several athletes being presented AMA specialty awards. 

Husqvarna’s Jalek Swoll, who earned the Open Pro Sport National Championship after going 1-3-1, captured the coveted Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award. This award is given to the A-class rider who shows the most promise as they prepare to enter the professional ranks.

The AMA Motocross Amateur Rider Award was presented to Yamaha-backed rider, Jarrett Frye. This award is designed to recognize an outstanding non-A-class rider who is ready to make an immediate impact in the A-class competition. Frye earned the honors with his National Championship in the Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C class and 3-3-1 finishes in the 250 B class. 

Michael Brown, Maxiums Vohland, Jarrett Frye earned the AMA Rider of the Year Awareds, while Jalek Swoll earned the Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award. Christian Munoz

The AMA Motocross Youth Rider Award is designated for a rider under the age of 16 chosen for his or her performance in the Youth classes at the AMA Amateur National. This year, KTM Orange Brigade’s Maximus Vohland earned the notable award after clinching the Supermini 1 (12-15) and Supermini 2 (13-16) titles.

The AMA Motocross Vet Rider Award is given to an outstanding rider over the age of 30. Results from all Vet classes are taken into consideration when selecting a winner. This year, Michael Brown proved that he was once again a front-runner by earning five of six-moto wins in the Junior (25+) and Senior (40+) classes.

California earned the State Championship Award at his year's AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship with 11 overall titles. Christian Munoz

Continuing their reign, California added another State Championship award by having the most racers out of any other state to win overall titles. California claimed 11 National Championships between Stilez Robertson, Dylan Cunha, Hunter Yoder, McCllelan Hile, Ryder Ellis, Landen Gordon, Haiden Deegan, Maximus Vohland (2), Jeremy Ryan and Mikayla Nielson. 

Returning to the Ranch was On Track School. On Track School is the recipient of a donation in honor of Dave Coombs Sr. made by Rita, Carrie, Tim and Davey Coombs. Students who apply have the opportunity to be awarded with scholarship funds toward post-secondary courses at a college of their choice. If you are a Motocross Athlete, you should apply by June 21, 2020. Click Here to apply. To learn more visit, For 2019, Bailee Garner and John Hartman surpassed the rest of the applicants and will be enrolling in one of the On Track School educational programs for 2019-2020. Accompanying the scholarship award was the twelfth annual On Track School Graduation Ceremony where all alumni were recognized for their academic achievements. provided an unprecedented 40+ hours of LIVE race coverage throughout the week, resulting in over 637,300 live views across Livestream and Facebook Live. The archived footage is now available for viewing HERE. In addition, two one-hour highlight shows featuring the event will air on NBC Sports Network on Saturday, November 30, 2019 and Sunday, December 15, 2019 at 4:30 p.m. EST.

Complete results from the 2019 National Championship can be found HERE

MX Sports wishes to thank everyone who participated in the Loretta Lynn National program, and congratulates all the 2019 Champions on their accomplishments.

2019 AMA Amateur National Motocross Champions
Open Pro SportJalek SwollBelleview, FL
250 Pro SportHardy MunozCulloden, GA
250 BStilez RobertsonBakersfield, CA
250 B LimitedMason GonzalesFort Walton Beach, FL
250 CDylan CunhaMoesto, CA
250 C LimitedDerek LeathermanNew Oxford, PA
250 C Jr. (12-17) Limited Cameron HarrisonChina Spring, TX
450 BMatthew LeBlancBreaux Bridge, LA
450 B LimitedHunter YoderMenifee, CA
450 CTyler FosterCulloden GA
125 CHunter NitschSkaneateles, NY
College (18-24) McClellan HileAtascadero, CA
Junior (25+)Michael BrownBristol, TN
Vet (30+) Nicholas HayesChester, VA
Senior (40+)Michael BrownBristol, TN
Senior (45+) John BowlinBattle Ground, WA
Masters (50+)John GreweRockford, MI
WomenJazzmyn CanfieldCape Coral, FL
Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/CJarrett FryeMechanicsville, MD
51cc (4-6) Special LimitedKade NightingaleMounds, OK
51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive LTDBraxton BaldockLiberty, KY
51cc (4-6) LimitedBode BradfordMidland, TX
51cc (7-8) LimitedRyder EllisNorth Fork, CA
65cc (7-9) LimitedCaden DudneyAthens, TX
65cc (7-9)Landon GibsonPeachtree City, GA
65cc (10-11) LimitedLanden GordonAtascadero, CA
65cc (10-11)Luke FauserMidland, PA
85cc (10-12) LimitedDaxton BennickMorganton, NC
85cc (10-12)Haiden DeeganTemecula, CA
Mini Sr 1 (12-14)Nicholas RomanoBayside, NY
Mini Sr 2 (13-15)Nicholas RomanoBayside, NY
Supermini 1 (12-15)Maximus VohlandGranite Bay, CA
Supermini 2 (13-16)Maximus VohlandGranite Bay, CA
125cc (12-17) B/CGage LinvilleLake Park, GA
Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/CJeremy RyanMorgan Hill, CA
Girls (11-16)Mikayla NielsonRiverside, CA


For more information on the AMA Amateur National, visit the series official website at or call (304) 284-0101. Join the conversation on the event’s social media channels, along with receiving the most up-to-date news and exclusive content.

About the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship

The Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Lucas Oil is the world's largest and most prestigious amateur motocross racing program. The national qualifying program consists of 54 Area Qualifiers (February through May) and 13 Regional Championships (May through June), hosted at select motocross facilities across the country. The qualifying system culminates in the National Final (first week in August) hosted annually since 1982 at the home of country music star Loretta Lynn in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. Nearly 20,000 racers attempt to qualify in 36 classes for the 1,512 available positions at the National. Christened "The World's Greatest Motocross Vacation", the National event serves as a launch pad for some of the biggest names in professional motocross and supercross, including Ricky Carmichael, James Stewart, Ryan Villopoto, and Ryan Dungey. The national program is produced by MX Sports, Inc., a West Virginia-based race production company and sanctioned by AMA. For more information, please visit

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world's largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders' interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit Not a member? Join the AMA today: